The Harold E. Eisenberg Foundation

Annual Program Book 2018-2019

Harold E. Eisenberg Foundation dinner program book

Issue link:

Contents of this Issue


Page 26 of 103

25 Program Spotlight: Real Estate Challenge The Harold E. Eisenberg Foundation Real Estate Challenge provides students with a hands-on opportunity to apply what they are learning in their university courses to the real working world of real estate. Students work alongside industry leaders as they are tasked with real projects on the forefront of Chicago real estate. The 2018 Challenge featured six teams acting as individual development companies that presented their responses to a Request for Proposal from the City of Chicago and Imperial Realty Company to purchase and redevelop a dynamic project at Pershing Crossing in Chicago's Central Manufacturing District. Once home to more than 250 large manufacturing companies and the US Army, this bustling district declined with the development of Interstate-highway suburban industrial parks. The student teams were challenged to create realistic proposals aimed at transforming the case site and helping revitalize the surrounding community. The University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign won the graduate division title and Marquette University won the undergraduate division title at this year's competition for their exceptional presentations. The 2018 judges panel included Eddy Dingman (President & Founder, Waterfront Investment Properties Group of Coldwell Banker Commercial NRT), Alfred Klairmont (President, Imperial Realty Company), George Pappageorge (Founding Partner, Pappageorge Haymes Partners), and Scott Yelvington (President & CEO, NorStates Bank / Northern States Financial Corporation). The UIUC Graduate Division team was comprised of Bradley Berg, Jen Concepcion, Kristopher Kobernus, Rebecca Palmer, Jesse Thomas, and Logan Walker with Roger Cannaday, Karen Mitchell McGrath, Sophie Sianis, and Alexei Tchistyi as their advisors. The Marquette Undergraduate Division team was comprised of Keegan Barrett, Allison Benedetto, Luis Herrer, and Hannah Thiry with Dan Cowell, Andy Hunt, and Mark Eppli as their advisors. Judges panel and Real Estate Challenge committee members at the 2018 competition. Philanthropy In Action Real Estate Education

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of The Harold E. Eisenberg Foundation - Annual Program Book 2018-2019