The Harold E. Eisenberg Foundation


Harold E. Eisenberg Foundation dinner program book

Issue link:

Contents of this Issue


Page 13 of 79

12 ICSC Foundation Scholarship Scholarships University of Illinois Scholarships and Endowment C ongratulations to the 2013 Harold E. Eisenberg Scholarship Recipient, Grace Lewin. Grace is a Leasing Manager at Sears Holding Corporation, an MBA student at the Kellogg School of Management, and a Harold E. Eisenberg Foundation Associate Board Member. The Harold E. Eisenberg Foundation's partnership and support of the International Counsel of Shopping Centers (ICSC) Education Foundation underscores its mission to support the educational and professional growth in the world of real estate. Harold served as an active volunteer and faculty member for ICSC for many years and this scholarship honors his legacy. Each year the Eisenberg Foundation provides a full scholarship for an "Eisenberg Foundation Scholarship Winner" to attend the ICSC "School for Professional Development." The scholarship covers enrollment fees, text books, work books and travel expenses for the recipient to attend a week-long series of classes designed to acquaint him or her with the inner workings of the shopping center industry, while providing insights and strategies useful to future growth and leadership within the profession. Scholarship recipients report that the experience is invaluable and see the insights learned and connections made as those that will last a lifetime. The 2014 scholarship recipient will be selected in mid-November. C ongratulations to the 2013 Scholarship Winner Jonny Blanks! The 2014 Scholarship Winner will be announced tonight. This $10,000 scholarship will bring the Foundation's total award contribution for the past 16 years to almost $235,000. When Harold Eisenberg passed away in 1999, his family created a $100,000 endowment in his name at the University of Illinois in Champaign-Urbana, Harold's alma mater. The endowment was established to continue Harold's legacy of promoting education and growth in the fi eld of real estate. In addition to the endowment, each year the Foundation works closely with Professor Roger Cannady and other university staff members to identify promising real estate students in need of fi nancial assistance. Working together, we select annual scholarship award winners based on academic performance, commitment to service, and dedication to pursuing a career in the real estate industry. Jonny Blanks, 2013 University of Illinois Scholarship Winner Grace Lewin, 2013 Harold E. Eisenberg Foundation Scholarship Winner

Articles in this issue

Archives of this issue

view archives of The Harold E. Eisenberg Foundation - 2014